What to Know About the International School Curriculum in Singapore

International School

Are you looking for an international school in Singapore but not sure which curriculum to choose? Choosing an international school in Singapore can be a difficult decision. You have to consider the location, the languages, and the cost, but you also have to choose between the wide range of school curricula, including Reggio Emilia and kindergarten in Singapore.

Which school curriculum is right for my child?

We recommend first and foremost considering how your child learns best and whether you plan to move back to your home country or elsewhere abroad further down the line. If you have specific aspirations for a particular career path or higher education school, then this can impact your decision as well. We suggest making use of the advisors at international schools as well for insight and advice since they are the experts.

Preschool and early childhood

  • Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).

    The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a set of standards for early learning, development, and care of children from birth to five years old. There is a focus on three areas of learning, including communication and language, physical development, and personal, social, and emotional development. The four core areas of learning include literacy, mathematics, expressive arts and design, and understanding the world. The program has a strong focus on interaction with children to advance their creative and critical thinking skills, as well as the early adoption of the language. Parents with children in the curriculum enjoy high levels of parental involvement and interaction.

  • Montessori.

    Montessori is a method of education created by Italian physician and educator Dr. Maria Montessori. The school curriculum is based on hands-on play, learning through experience, and independence. Specialized Montessori materials support children in their learning process. The students are given the freedom to choose their preferred activity and learn free from strict instruction. Children are encouraged to explore, be creative, and work alone and in groups to learn the language, science, mathematics, communication, art, dance, and music.

  • Reggio Emilia.

    The Reggio Emilia approach is a preschool and primary educational philosophy created by teacher Loris Malaguzzi in Reggio Emilia in Italy. The philosophy of Reggio Emilia is that young people form lifelong personalities during the early years, when they are endowed with a hundred languages for self-expression. The program is hands-on and aims to inspire students to use symbolic languages, like painting and sculpture, to learn day today. Reggio Emilia focuses on the values of community, responsibility, and respect by offering an encouraging and inspirational environment.

  • Singapore National.

    The Ministry of Education, also known as the MOE, has created a Nurturing Early Learners Curriculum for children from the ages of four to six. The curriculum aims to nurture children’s curiosity so that they can explore and discover the world, encourage active learning, and foster their competence so that they can develop critical thinking and reasoning skills.


National curricula

  • American.

    The American curriculum is a great choice for US expats with children already in the American education system. It’s an excellent option if you are planning to return to the US or want to send your children to top American universities. Every state in the US has different standards, but there are common themes and methods, including student centered planning and enquiry based learning.

  • Australian.

    The Australian curriculum is well suited for ex-pats from or returning to Australia. The curriculum runs from Foundation to Year 10. Disciplinary knowledge is found in the right learning areas of the Australian curriculum, including English, mathematics, science, health and physical education, humanities and social sciences, the arts, technologies and languages.

  • The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) – India.

    The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) is the board of education for the Union Government of India. The curriculum prepares students from Classes 1 to 12 for competitive exams while facilitating entry into the world’s top universities. Assessment for CBSE classes is based on the Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation system. CBSE provides a comprehensive curriculum that stresses academic rigor within an environment of holistic development that allows students to focus effectively on academics while pursuing sports and extracurricular activities.

  • French.

    The French curriculum is secular and split into two levels: Level 1 (nursery and elementary school) and Level 2 (lower secondary and upper secondary). During Level 1 (before age six), there is an emphasis on the acquisition of the common core of knowledge and skills based on key competencies for lifelong learning, education, and success later in life. The priority is given to learning French and mathematics, but other key subjects include history and geography, art, foreign languages, science, and information technology.

  • United Kingdom (UK).

    The National Curriculum has five key stages, from the Foundation Year through Years 12 to 13. The core UK school subjects include English literacy, mathematics and numeracy, science, art, music, drama, and physical and religious education.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.